Multistakeholder Forum 2020

GIFCT’s inaugural Multistakeholder Forum took place on Thursday, July 23, 2020. Please find the agenda, recordings and PDFs below.

Part I: Recorded Replay

Part II: Recorded Replay


Part 1 | The New GIFCT & the Threat Landscape

Agenda and Speakers

2:00 AM EDT Welcome & Opening Remarks

  • Courtney Gregoire, Chief Digital Safety Officer, Microsoft, and Chair, Operating Board, Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism
  • Brad Smith, President, Microsoft
  • Nicholas Rasmussen, Executive Director, Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism
  • Bjørn Ihler, Chair of the GIFCT Independent Advisory Committee

2:30 AM The Evolving Threat Landscape: A 2020 Update

  • Moderator: Dr. Shiraz Maher, Global Network on Extremism and Technology (GNET)

Response Panel

  • Farah Pandith, Adjunct Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations, Senior Fellow, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Lydia Khalil, Lowy Institute
  • Hamish Hansford, First Assistant Secretary, Department of Home Affairs, Australian Government
  • Adam Hadley, Tech Against Terrorism

3:30 AM EDT – End of Part I

Part 2 | The Work of the New GIFCT: A Survey of Priority Focus Areas

Agenda and Speakers

2:00 PM EDT Overview of the GIFCT Working Groups

  • Moderator: Nicholas Rasmussen, Executive Director, Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism

Working Group Facilitators and Presenters:

  • Academic and Practical Research: Dina Hussein, Facebook
  • Content-Sharing Algorithms, Processes, and Positive Interventions: Lucy Calladine, Google and YouTube
  • Crisis Response: Jacqueline Beauchere, Microsoft
  • Legal Approaches: Nick Pickles, Twitter
  • Technical Approaches: Adam Hadley, Tech Against Terrorism (TBC)
  • Transparency: Dr. Erin Saltman, Facebook

2:50 PM Response & Reaction Panel

  • Moderator: Nicholas Rasmussen
  • Academia: Evelyn Douek, Harvard Law School
  • Law Enforcement: Tobias Wippich, Bundeskriminalamt, Germany
  • Civil Society: Dia Kayyali, WITNESS

3:30 PM Next Steps and Conclusion of Part II
3:35 PM Break

Breakout Sessions

3:45 PM Working Group Breakout Sessions

4:15 PM End of event