Get in Touch

    Follow us


    GIFCT is governed by an Operating Board made up of members from the Forum’s founding companies: Facebook, Microsoft, Twitter, and YouTube. GIFCT is advised by an Independent Advisory Committee made up of representatives from civil society, government, and intergovernmental organizations.

    Independent Advisory Committee

    The Independent Advisory Committee guides the Operating Board, including through an annual report advising on organizational priorities and reflecting on previous performance. Independent Advisory Committee meetings are held in conjunction with meetings of the Operating Board. The Independent Advisory Committee includes a minority of members from government and inter-governmental entities and a majority drawn from civil society understood broadly to include, among others, advocacy groups, human rights specialists, foundations, researchers and technical experts. All government representatives must represent governments that are members of the Freedom Online Coalition. The Independent Advisory Committee chair will always be a non-governmental representative. The Operating Board periodically reviews and updates the composition of the Independent Advisory Committee, with the intent of maintaining continuity of the group, encouraging diverse thinking and representing the global community.

    View the GIFCT IAC Terms of Reference.

    Independent Advisory Committee Members

    Civil Society

    Centre for Analysis of the Radical Right

    Hewlett Foundation

    Inclusive Aotearoa Collective

    S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies

    Stanford University, Global Digital Policy Incubator

    Swansea University


    The Khalifa-Ihler Institute

    The Observer Research Foundation

    Université du Québec à Montréal

    University of California, Irvine

    University of Maryland, National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism


    Government of Canada, Public Safety Canada

    Government of France, Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs

    Government of Ghana, Ministry of Communications

    Government of Japan, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

    Government of New Zealand, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet

    Government of the United Kingdom, Home Office

    Government of the United States, National Security Council


    European Union, Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs

    United Nations Security Council Counter-Terrorism Executive Directorate (Observer)

    Operating Board

    The Operating Board provides GIFCT’s operational budget and ensures overall GIFCT operations align with its mission. The Operating Board is composed of GIFCT’s founding members; at least one rotating company from the broader membership cadre; new companies that meet leadership criteria, and the rotating chair of the Independent Advisory Committee, who participates as a non-voting member. The Operating Board chair rotates annually. For 2021, Twitter is chair.

    Founding Companies

    On June 26th, 2017, Twitter, Facebook, Microsoft, and YouTube announced the formation of GIFCT. The founding companies created GIFCT with the belief that by working together, sharing the best technological and operational elements of our individual efforts, they could have a greater impact on the threat of terrorist content online. Building on the work of initiatives such as the EU Internet Forum and the Shared Industry Hash Database, the companies identified three core areas of work: technological solutions, research, and knowledge-sharing.

    Tech Against Terrorism

    Launched by the United Nations Counter-Terrorism Executive Directorate (UN CTED) in 2016, Tech Against Terrorism (TaT) partners with GIFCT on two key initiatives:

    Mentorship of platforms interested in joining GIFCT

    Knowledge-sharing within the tech industry and across the private, public, and civil society sectors.