Get in Touch

    Follow us

    2021 Global Summit

    July 27th, 2021

    From July 26-28, 2021 GIFCT convened our multi-stakeholder community for our annual Global Summit this July. At the Summit, we showcased progress on core strategic objectives, highlighted the multi-stakeholder element of that work, and previewed priorities and plans for the year ahead. Recordings of all three Summit sessions are available below.

    Global Summit Session One

    Session 1

    Session 1

    Overview of the Evolving Threat Landscape


    July 26


    12:00 – 1:30 p.m. EDT / 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. UTC


    To provide a framing overview of the threat landscape for the Summit and to feature the work of our core partners, the Global Network on Extremism and Technology (GNET) and Tech Against Terrorism (TaT)

    Welcome Remarks

    Nick Rasmussen – Executive Director, GIFCT

    Monique Meche – Chair, GIFCT Operating Board and Vice President of Global Public Policy and Philanthropy, Twitter
    Bjørn Ihler – Chairperson, GIFCT Independent Advisory Committee and Executive Director + Co-founder, Khalifa-Ihler Institute

    Overiew of the Threat Landscape

    Jenna McLaughlin – National Security and Investigations Reporter, Yahoo! News
    Dr. Shiraz Maher – Director, International Centre for the Study of Radicalisation
    Adam Hadley – Executive Director, Tech Against Terrorism

    Session Two: Human Rights Assessment

    Session Two: Taxonomy

    Session 2

    Session 2

    A Human Rights-Based Approach to Expanding GIFCT’s Impact and Reach


    July 27


    9:00 – 11:00 a.m. EDT / 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. UTC


    A discussion on our approach to human rights in the context of a completed human rights impact assessment followed by a discussion on how best to expand the taxonomy framework of the hash-sharing database for terrorist content.

    Human Rights

    Edward Flynn – Senior Human Rights Officer, Counter-terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED), United Nations – opening remarks

    David Kaye – Clinical Professor of Law, University of California, Irvine; Former United Nations Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of the right to freedom of opinion and expression (2014-2020) – moderator
    Dunstan Allison-Hope – Vice President, Business for Social Responsibility
    Susan Morgan – Senior Advisor, Business for Social Responsibility
    Anjum Rahman – Project Lead, Inclusive Aotearoa Collective Tāhono
    Lucy Calladine – Government Affairs and Public Policy Lead for Terrorism, VE, and Hate, Google
    Nick Rasmussen – Executive Director, GIFCT


    Daniel Byman – Senior Fellow, Brookings Institute; Professor, Georgetown University Walsh School of Foreign Service – moderator
    Dr. Erin Saltman – Director of Programming, GIFCT
    Dr. Eviane Leidig – Research Fellow in Current and Emerging Threats,  International Centre for Counter-Terrorism (ICCT)
    Brian Fishman – Director of Counterterrorism and Dangerous Organizations, Facebook
    Mariusz Żurawek – Founder,

    Session Three: Working Groups

    Session Three: Tech

    Session 3

    Session 3

    Future Priorities: GIFCT Working Groups and Tech Innovation


    July 27 / July 28


    9:00 – 11:00 p.m. EDT / 1:00 – 3:00 a.m. UTC


    To facilitate forward-looking discussions on GIFCT tech priorities and working group topics for the coming year

    Working Groups

    Yolanda Gallego-Casilda Grau – Head of the Prevention of Radicalisation Unit, European Commission

    Dr. Erin Saltman – Director of Programming, GIFCT – moderator
    Jacqueline Beauchere – Global Digital Safety Advocate, Microsoft
    Nick Pickles – Senior Director of Global Public Policy Strategy, Development and Partnerships, Twitter
    Antonios Samouris – European Counter Terrorism Centre, Europol
    Chris Meserole – Fellow, Brookings Institute
    Liz Thomas – Regional Digital Safety Lead, Microsoft


    Tom Thorley – Director of Technology, GIFCT – moderator
    Dr. Scott Robbins – Research Fellow, Bonn University
    Julia Fossi – Director, International, Strategy and Futures, eSafety Commission
    Vidhya Ramalingam – Founder & CEO, Moonshot
    Emma Llansó – Director, Free Expression Project, Center for Technology & Democracy