About our Leadership

On June 26, 2017, Facebook, Microsoft, Twitter, and YouTube formed the Global Internet Forum to Counter Terrorism (GIFCT), which formalizes and structures how our companies will work together to curtail the spread of terrorism and violent extremism on our hosted consumer services. In 2019, Dropbox, Amazon, LinkedIn and WhatsApp became the newest member of the GIFCT. 

The GIFCT builds on existing cooperation within industry including the work of the EU Internet Forum, and will foster collaboration with smaller tech companies, civil society groups and academics, governments and supra-national bodies such as the EU and the UN. We believe that by working together, sharing the best technological and operational elements of our individual efforts, we can have a significantly greater impact on the threat of terrorist content online than we can alone.

The GIFCT is governed by an executive committee made up of senior representatives from the four founding companies. The committee meets biannually to set high-level strategy and is convened by a senior executive who represents the company that is chair for the year. For 2019, Facebook is chair.